Ru
En
15.05.201930.06.2019

Conditions of participation

Cyrillic type designs and completed fonts created or released from 2014 to 2019 are eligible for the competition. Both original typefaces and legal localizations of existing Latin fonts are eligible.

The typefaces of the jury members and competition organisers are not eligible.

Participation in Modern Cyrillic is free.

There is no limit to the number of designs one may submit to the competition. Each work should be submitted separately and have its own registration code. Entries can be submitted both by designers and typeface manufacturers, including individuals and legal entities related to designing or publication of the typeface.

The competition has two stages. First, the selection сommittee reviews all submissions and selects a list of entries for the next round. Then the jury evaluates the selected fonts and chooses the winners. All typefaces from the list chosen by the selection committee take part in public voting.

Stages of the competition

Submitting entries
15.05.201903.06.2019
Public voting
20.06.201927.06.2019
Announcing the winners
30.06.2019

The results will be published at moderncyrillic.org on June 30, 2019. Winning typefaces will be awarded with honorary diplomas of Modern Cyrillic 2019, published in the catalog and shown at the traveling exhibition. The authors of the winning fonts will receive a copy of the catalog after its publication. In addition, the organisers and partners of the competition reserve the right to award their own prizes to selected designs among the ones recognised by the jury.

There's also an additional bonus — three special prizes from the most popular type design apps: FontLab, Glyphs & Robofont — a license for the latest versions of these editors.

Categories

There are three competition categories:
1. Display typefaces
Typefaces and type families for headings and shorter messages, phrases and words, including handwritten, calligraphic, decorative, initial styles, etc.
2. Text typefaces
Typefaces and type families for use in the composition of text for continuous reading
3. Type systems (including superfamilies)
Extended type families that include styles both for text and display. Superfamilies may include styles that fall into multiple typeface classifications that are designed to be used together, for example, serif and sans-serif.

The competition categories help organise entries for the jury’s convenience. The selection committee has the right to change the category if it does not correspond to the typeface design.

When submitting an entry, you should indicate whether it is an original type design or a legal Cyrillic extension of an existing Latin design.

also should indicate whether the entry is designed for publication (one can buy or legally download the font or the design is planned for sale or free distribution), or it is a custom typeface (commissioned by some customer and designed to meet the needs of the customer), or it is an experimental design (this category includes typefaces created rather to expand the boundaries of type design than for sale, student works, etc.).

In 2019 for the first time we divide the submissions by usage: typefaces primarily intended for printing, intended for viewing/reading on screen, and also the variable fonts. When submitting a typeface, the participant can choose how exactly his work will be presented to the jury: printed on paper, shown on screen in a web browser or both. In addition to a printout and/or web page, a video should be uploaded to show a variable font.

Presentation

Typefaces are submitted to the competition using the electronic application form. The submission for “print” typeface should be a high-resolution A3 PDF (up to 12 pages for one entry), for “web” font it should be a web page or the webfont itself. For variable fonts a demo video should be uploaded to show a variable font.

The black-and-white images are preferred. Colour images are accepted if the use of colour is a significant feature of the submitted design.

To assure the objective judging the names of the typefaces, designers, clients, manufacturers or distributors must not appear anywhere in the presentation. Once the font is sent to the contest, it receives a registration code for its identification during the judging. The names of the typefaces chosen by the selection committee and the names of their authors will be revealed at the stage of the public voting.

When submitting a typeface to the competition, the participant can either use the template prepared by the organizers or make his own layout that adequately demonstrates the typeface without specifying the name of the typeface, designer, client, manufacturer or distributor. When uploading an entry, an unique registration code containing information about the categories selected by the participant will be placed automatically on each page of the layout.

The minimal character set for an experimental or custom design is the alphabet of any language of Cyrillic script in one case (for example, only uppercase or only lowercase letters). The minimal character set for other designs is: •!?@‚"#%$€£¥₽&§¶©(*).,:;…-/«»‘’‚“”„–—№0123456789¹²³+=−<>×÷ ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz АБВГДЕЁЖЗИЙКЛМНОПРСТУФХЦЧШЩЪЫЬЭЮЯҐЃЄЋЂЉЊЌЎЏЅІЇЈ абвгдеёжзийклмнопрстуфхцчшщъыьэюяґѓєћђљњќўџѕіїј

When uploading a PDF, please make sure that the file settings allow to print it in high resolution.

Responsibility of parties

The participants are entirely responsible for the legality of their designs. The designers of type are also responsible for making sure that their works do not infringe any third party rights. The organisers are not responsible for the accuracy of information provided by participants.

The organising committee of the contest ensures that the typefaces submitted for the contest will not be used for commercial purposes without the written permission of their designers and/or other right holders. The works submitted to the contest and their fragments may be published only for the purposes of information and advertising of the contest and only in formats that exclude the possibility of extracting the original digital typeface data in whole or in part. The web fonts uploaded by the participants will be placed on a closed server and will be available for viewing only by the jury, the selection committee and the organising committee. Raster images will be used for the public voting and demonstration of the contest results on the website.

Чтобы принять участие,
откройте сайт
на десктопе

Contact details

For any questions about the competition and the terms of submission please contact the organising committee at k2019@paratype.com or at our Facebook.

Ru
En
15.05.201930.06.2019

Условия участия

На конкурс принимаются кириллические шрифты, созданные или выпущенные в 2014–2019 годах, как оригинальные, так и легальные локализации существующих латинских шрифтов.

В конкурсе не участвуют шрифты членов жюри.

Участие в конкурсе бесплатное.

Один человек может отправить на конкурс любое количество шрифтов, при этом у каждого шрифта должен быть свой регистрационный код и представление. Допускается участие в конкурсе шрифтов, представленных как дизайнерами, так и производителями шрифтов, в том числе физическими и юридическими лицами, имеющими отношение к разработке или публикации шрифта.

Конкурс проводится в два этапа. Сначала отборочный комитет просматривает все присланные заявки и формирует список шрифтов для следующего тура, затем жюри оценивает отобранные шрифты и выбирает победителей. Шрифты, прошедшие отборочный тур, участвуют в зрительском голосовании.

Этапы проведения

Приём работ
15.05.201903.06.2019
Публикация результатов отборочного тура
20.06.2019
Зрительское голосование
20.06.201927.06.2019
Объявление победителей
30.06.2019

Результаты конкурса будут опубликованы на сайте moderncyrillic.org 30 июня 2019 года. Победители будут отмечены дипломами конкурса «Современная кириллица-2019», а работы напечатаны и представлены в каталоге конкурса и на передвижной выставке. Авторы шрифтов-победителей получат почётный диплом и экземпляр каталога.

Дополнительным бонусом для победителей станут три специальных приза от популярных шрифтовых редакторов: FontLab, Glyphs и Robofont — лицензия на наиболее актуальные версии этих популярных программ.

Категории

В конкурсе три категории дизайна: акцидентный шрифт, текстовый шрифт, система текстовых и акцидентных начертаний (в этой же категории рассматриваются супергарнитуры). Отборочный комитет вправе изменить категорию дизайна, если она явно не соответствует рисунку шрифта.

Для шрифта, участвующего в конкурсе, обязательно указывается, оригинальный он или производный (кириллизация).

Также при регистрации участник указывает, является ли шрифт тиражным (к тиражным относятся шрифты, которые продаются, распространяются бесплатно или планируется их продажа или бесплатное распространение), заказным (разработанным по заказу и отвечающим требованиям заказчика) или экспериментальным (эта категория включает шрифты, разработанные не для распространения, студенческие шрифты и т.п.).

В 2019 году мы впервые выделяем категории по назначению шрифта: шрифты, в первую очередь предназначенные для печати, шрифты, в первую очередь предназначенные для просмотра/чтения с экрана, а также категорию вариативных шрифтов. При подаче шрифта на конкурс участник может выбрать, как его работа будет представлена жюри: в виде распечатки, веб-страницы или обоими способами. Для демонстрации вариативного шрифта кроме распечатки и/или веб-страницы используется видео.

Представление шрифтов на конкурс

Работы на конкурс представляются при помощи электронной формы заявки в виде PDF высокого разрешения формата А3 (до 10 страниц для одного шрифта/шрифтового семейства), веб-страниц или файлов веб-шрифтов. Для вариативных шрифтов нужно дополнительно загрузить демонстрационное видео.

Для максимальной объективности судейства в представлении шрифта не должно быть указано его название, имя автора или правообладателя. Во время отправки на конкурс шрифт получает регистрационный код, который будет использован для его идентификации. Названия шрифтов, прошедших отборочный тур, и имена их авторов будут опубликованы на этапе зрительского голосования.

При подаче шрифта на конкурс участник может использовать подготовленный организаторами шаблон или сделать собственный макет, адекватно демонстрирующий шрифт без указания его имени, автора, правообладателя. На каждой странице макета при подаче заявки система помещает регистрационный код шрифта, который содержит информацию о выбранных участником категориях.

Минимальный знаковый состав для экспериментального шрифта — алфавит любого языка, использующего кириллицу, в одном регистре (например, только прописные или только строчные знаки). Минимальный знаковый состав для тиражного шрифта: •!?@‚"#%$€£¥₽©(*).,:;…-/«»‘’‚“”„–—№0123456789¹²³+=−<>×÷ ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz АБВГДЕЁЖЗИЙКЛМНОПРСТУФХЦЧШЩЪЫЬЭЮЯҐЃЄЋЂЉЊЌЎЏЅІЇЈ абвгдеёжзийклмнопрстуфхцчшщъыьэюяґѓєћђљњќўџѕіїј

При представлении шрифта в виде PDF убедитесь, что настройки файла позволяют напечатать его в высоком разрешении.

Ответственность сторон

Ответственность за легальность разработки полностью лежит на участнике конкурса. Дизайнер шрифта несёт всю полноту ответственности за то, что в своём проекте не нарушает каких-либо прав третьих лиц. Оргкомитет конкурса не несёт ответственности за достоверность представленной участником информации о проекте.

Оргкомитет конкурса гарантирует, что представленные на конкурс шрифты не будут использованы в коммерческих целях без письменного разрешения их дизайнеров и/или иных правообладателей. Работы, представленные на конкурс, и их фрагменты могут быть опубликованы только в целях информации и рекламы конкурса и только в форматах, исключающих возможность извлечения оригинальных цифровых данных шрифта целиком или частично. Загруженные участниками веб-шрифты будут размещены на закрытом сервере и доступны для просмотра только жюри, отборочному комитету и оргкомитету конкурса. Для зрительского голосования и публикации результатов конкурса на сайте будут использованы растровые изображения.

Чтобы принять участие,
откройте сайт
на десктопе

Контактная информация

По любым вопросам, связанным с организацией конкурса и условиями приёма работ вы можете обращаться в организационный комитет конкурса по адресу k2019@paratype.com, а также в нашу группу в Facebook.