Modern Cyrillic 2019 is an international type design competition. It is a sequel to Kyrillitsa’99, Modern Cyrillic 2009 and 2014. The aim of the competition is to get the the objective evidence of the current state of Cyrillic type design and find the best examples of its development.

Cyrillic typefaces created or released from 2014 to 2019 are eligible for the competition. Participation in Modern Cyrillic is open to all and free of charge. Winning typefaces will be awarded with honorary diplomas of Modern Cyrillic 2019, published in the catalog and shown at the traveling exhibition. The authors of the winning fonts will receive a copy of the catalog after its publication.

Modern Cyrillic 2019 is organised by Paratype.


Alexandra Korolkova
Art director of Paratype. Participated in Public Types of Russian Federation project as leading designer. The 9th recipient of Prix Charles Peignot (2013). Wrote a book on typography for beginners (in Russian) “Live Typography”. Spoke at ATypI, TYPO Berlin, TypeCon, TYPO Labs, Serebro Nabora, Typofest, Typetersburg.
Alexander Lubovenko
Type designer, graphic designer and programmer combining in one person. A graduate of Type and typography course of the British school of Art and Design (Moscow. 2014). Works at Paratype and uses Python scripting for advanced font development.
Yuri Gordon
Artist, graphic designer, illustrator, type designer and a bit writer. Yuri made ten thousand of book illustrations, 400 typefaces and a hundred of logos. He has also written a few books, including “The Book of Letters: from Aa to Яя”.
Valery Golyzhenkov
Graphic and type designer, teacher, partner in Letterhead Studio, founder of and member of the editorial board of the Type Journal.
Gayaneh Bagdasaryan
Founder of the Brownfox type foundry and mastermind behind the annual international type conference Serebro Nabora held in Russia. Award winner of international type design competitions Kyrillitsa’99, TDC² 2000 and Granshan 2013.
Vyacheslav Kirilenko
Type designer at Brownfox and freelance graphic designer. His work has been widely acclaimed, included in numerous international books and periodicals, and won an award from Granshan international type design competition, 2013.
Tagir Safayev
Type and graphic designer. Member of the Moscow Artists Union and of the Association Typographique Internationale (ATypI), and a co-founder of the Type Designers Association, Moscow.
Jean-François Porchez
Founder of Typofonderie, type director of ZeCraft. After training as a graphic designer, during which he focused on type design, Jean François Porchez (1964) worked as a type director at Dragon Rouge, then at Le Monde newspaper in early 90s. He was President of the Association Typographique Internationale in 2004–2007. Founder and head of ECV Master design & Typography between 2011-2019. He is board member of the Club des Directeurs Artistiques in Paris and member of the Type Directors Club in New York. He was awarded the Prix Charles Peignot in 1998 and numerous prizes for his typefaces. Introduced to French Who’s Who in 2009. In 2014, Perrousseaux publishes his monograph. Knight in the order of Arts and Letters in 2015. The President of France, Emmanuel Macron use his typefaces for his communication since 2017.
Luc(as) de Groot
Berlin-based Dutch type designer Luc(as) de Groot is best-known for his superfamily Thesis. But his repertoire is much wider and his type became a subtle part of everyday life. Luc(as) has designed custom fonts for newspapers such as Folha de S.Paulo, Le Monde, Metro, taz.die tageszeitung, Freitag, Jungle World, Der Spiegel – in addition to creating corporate type for international companies including Sun Microsystems, Bell South, Heineken, Volkswagen and Miele. He developed two font families for Microsoft: the monospaced font family Consolas, as a successor for Courier, and Calibri, the new default typeface in MS Word. Luc(as) de Groot is also a father, husband, illustrator and master of many crafts. He teaches type design at the University of Applied Sciences in Potsdam, Germany. He runs his type foundry LucasFonts and design studio FontFabrik in Berlin and gives lectures around the world.
Denis Serebryakov
Independent designer engaged in branding and type design since 2011. Proponent of the systematic approach to design and self demanding. Denis is interested in experimenting with readability of the typeface on the verge of a possible. He designed Appetite Pro, Bouquet, Displace, Rozza and some other fonts.
Vlad Ermolaev
Founder and creative director of Ermolaev Bureau. Vlad has been working in communication design since 1995. His biography includes working in the largest Russian and foreign agencies and studios. In April 2006, he was one of the founders of the agency BBDO Branding in Russia, which he led as a creative director until 2008. In 2009 he founded his own branding bureau, which is now in the Top of 5 best Russian brand agencies. Over the five years of the studio’s existence it has been awarded international prizes. In 2014, the visual identity for a construction company PZSP was awarded the Grand Prix-Red Dot, making Ermolaev Bureau the first among Russian studios to receive the highest award in the competition.

Selection committee

Valery Golyzhenkov
The chairman of the selection committee.
Rustam Gabbasov
Editor and graphic designer. After graduating from Maxim Gorky Institute of Literature and Creative Writing (2011) continued his education at the British school of Art and Design on the “Type and typography” course (2011-2012, curated by Ilya Ruderman). Since 2013 he is a co-publisher and editor of the publishing house “Sсhrift”. Makes books, teaches type history in Design school of RANEPA.
Konstantin Golovchenko
Graphic designer, Illustrator, researcher in the fields of typeface history and typography. He worked as a title designer for a broadcasting company for several years. Later he took the position of lead editor at a publishing house. Co-founder (alongside Viktor Kharik) of Apostrof digital type foundry.
Vitaly Kuzmin
Type designer and design auditor at Paratype, author of PT Root and a variety of custom typefaces.
Dmitry Goloub
Graphic and type designer, teaches the “Type” and “Typography” disciplines at the Institute of Business and Design. Worked for design studios and advertising agencies. Designer at Paratype.

Stages of the competition

Submitting entries
Public voting
Announcing the winners

The results will be published at on June 30, 2019. Winning typefaces will be awarded with honorary diplomas of Modern Cyrillic 2019, published in the catalog and shown at the traveling exhibition. Authors of the winning typefaces will receive a copy of the catalog after its publication. In addition, the organisers and partners of the competition reserve the right to award their own prizes to selected designs among the ones recognised by the jury.

There's also an additional bonus — three special prizes from the most popular type design apps: FontLab, Glyphs & Robofont — a license for the latest versions of these editors.

To participate,
open the site
on a desktop

Contact details

For any questions about the competition and the terms of submission please contact the organising committee at or at our Facebook.